Legal framework and mandate

The Cambodian Mine Action and Victim Assistance Authority (CMAA), established under Royal Decree No. 177 on 06 September 2000, is mandated to regulate, monitor and coordinate the mine action sector in Cambodia.
CMAA is under the direct leadership of the Prime Minister and the CMAA Vice President while the CMAA Secretary General manages operations related to its mandate.


The CMAA is also responsible for formulating strategic and work performance plans necessary to achieve the priorities stipulated in the National Strategic Development Plan (NSDP). The CMAA has led the sector in formulating key policy and strategic frameworks, such as the National Mine Action Strategy 2010-2019 and the Partnership Principles, as well as guidance and instructions for managing and regulating the sector, such as the Cambodian Mine Action Standards (CMAS), and the planning and prioritization guidelines.


CMAA is also tasked to lead and coordinate mine action activities implemented by mine clearance operators. In addition, CMAA facilitates the integration of development projects into mine action activities by enhancing partnerships between government ministries and institutions, development partners, local authorities, community development organizations and other development entities. To improve aid coordination and partnership between development partners and the Government, CMAA coordinates the Technical Working Group on Mine Action (TWG-MA) which is under the leadership of the CMAA Vice President.


The CMAA is composed of the following members from relevant Government institutions:


1 Sumdech Hun Sen Prime Minister of the Royal Government of Cambodia President
2 H.E. Serei Kosal Senior Minister in charge of Special Mission 1st Vice President
3 H.E. Sem Sovanny Senior Minister 2nd Vice President
4 H.E. Ly Thuch Senior Minister in charge of Special Mission Secretary General
5 H.E. Ith Sam Heng Minister of Social Affairs, Labor, Vocational Training and Youth Rehabilitation Member
6 H.E. Uch Kiman Secretary of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Member
7 H.E. Prum Sokha Secretary of State, Ministry of Interior Member
8 H.E. Chhieng Yanara Deputy Secretary General, Council of Development in Cambodia Member
9 H.E. Chay Saing Yun Secretary of State, Ministry of National Defense Member
10 H.E. Ou Orhat Secretary of State, Ministry of Planning  Member
11 H.E. Leng Penh Long Member of Legal Council, Office of the Council of Ministers Member
12 H.E. Svay Sitha Under Secretary of State, Secretary General, Council for Demobilization of Armed Forces Member
13 H.E. Sous Kong Under Secretary of State, Ministry of Rural Development Member
14 H.E. Nhean Leng Under Secretary of State, Ministry of Economy and Finance Member
15 H.E. Sek Setha Director-General, Ministry of Land Management, Urban Planning and Construction Member